Water in engine

Sand 125

Hi all,

I spent the last two days cleaning my engine (still assembled) as I want to paint it black.

I got it nice and clean using degreaser and all sorts of brushes and rinsing everything off with a garden hose from time to time (no pressure washer).

Before doing this I plugged the air intake and exhaust holes, but when I took out the plugs I noticed that they were leaking badly...

So it looks like water got into the engine.

What should I do now?

Could I maybe just take out the spark plugs and put it on it's head? Or should I open up the engine (which I've never done before..)?

Thanks!

Um. So water got into your intake and exhaust ports? Thats..not good. Is the engine in the bike?

Really what you want to do is get the engine running and warmed up. This will help burn off any water trapped in the combustion chamber, ports and on the valves. Then, change the oil. Repeat until you no longer have milky oil (which you will if its contaminated the oil in the crankcase). Hopefully the rings were in good enough condition to keep any water in the combustion chamber only.

If you cannot run the engine, you should probably take the top end apart and flush everything with solvent or kerosene, make sure there is no rust on the valves..etc.

Kick over the engine with the spark plug out and see if water comes out of the spark plug hole.

Pull the plugs, crank it over until water vapor no longer comes out the plug holes. Dry the electrics with air compressor, leaf blower, or vacuum exhaust. Blow the plugs dry and reinstall (tighten correctly). Check for water in the oil (doubt you'll find any), change if you find any. Fire it up and warm it up. That's what I'd do.

Thanks for the input!

The bike is completely disassembled at the moment, so can’t fire iT up.

So I guess I’ll have to open it. I’ll give iT a try tonight, hope it’s not too late yet..