1971-ish CB750 with GSXR Front End and other bits

GNGSXR

I am a long time lurker and figured I'd join this site and let everyone tear me a new one. Apparently that is the reputation this site has.

I have lots of experience with removing stock parts and putting new parts on, basic bolt on performance modifications, routine maintenance, and some slight vehicle alterations from stock. I have never done something like this CB750 build. With that said being, I am completely open to criticism, advice, help or anything of the sort from everyone on the forum.

Here is the bike the way I got it. It shows 51,xxx miles. Frame/motor are 1971 but some members on this site informed me that some of the other pieces on the bike are from a 1976.
DtRsbgo.jpg

I am using a '76 CB550 swing arm. The 550 is on the right. Stock on the left.
2TdcYeQ.jpg

Overall the cb550 swing arm has the same dimensions as the CB750 but the 550 is slightly longer. I switched swing arms because the tubular steel looks better and flows with the rest of the frame. The stock stamped steel swing arm doesn't fit the look of the stock tubular frame. I also wanted a slightly longer swing arm since the stock '71 CB750 swing arms are too short in my opinion.

I picked up an entire 1996 CBR600 F3 for dirt cheap. Fairings and air box pieces are in the shed. This willl end up being another project down the road but for now I am stealing the rear rim and brake setup for the CB750. THe F3 has a 170mm tire mounted which is a nightmare to shoehorn into the CB550 swing arm
N36VZ0u.jpg

I think I could have got away with a 160mm tire on the back but my fabricator and I were drinking and decided to take a shot at modifying the swing arm to accommodate the 170mm tire. We had to widen it, install some plates to hold the caliper mount, mill the hud carrier slightly and also trim the left side a bit on the swing arm.
aPikJiR.jpg

eibv2WC.jpg