GPZ 305 Cafe build "Lorelai"

warpedworm

I could agree with you but then we'd both be wrong
Here's goes my build thread for my GPZ 305 Cafe.

I've never built a cafe before so if anybody has any ideas or something I'm doing is driving them crazy, please speak up.
Also I am trying to do this as inexpensively as possbile, but hopefully not CHEAP.

I am starting with an '83 that one of my friends used to roadrace with, that I bought from him for $100 probably in '86 for a backup/spare to match the one I raced. At the time it had the side clutch cover blown off after he had rebuilt the clutch and forgot to tighten the clutch nut, WHOOPS!!.

I also have my race bike which my daughter and I are rebuilding for her to ride. She's only 5'4" so it will be a nice starter for her. It'll be pretty much stock outside of a Yosh pipe and a couple of other small things. She's been helping a lot, and this winter she'll learn how to rebuild and engine ;D I'll put a few pictures of her progress also.

The shed in the background is my shop, at the time of the pictures, it had no electric, a dirt floor and was full of lawn mowers/motorcycles/junk. As of today, it has a wooden floor/electric was hooked up Friday and I'm going to paint the inside put more lights in and clean the rest of the junk out.

Thanks for your help and support.

MotorcyclesMay2010062.jpg

MotorcyclesMay2010056.jpg

MotorcyclesMay2010052.jpg

What I started with

cafe-calis305-wheelhorsemowerclipons064.jpg

Cut 7" inches off the tail section and 5" off the footpeg mounts to make the rearsets

100_0038.jpg

100_0037.jpg

This is my clip on solution , just unbolt from the top and turn over, drops the bars about 5". The only thing I'll have to do
is notch out the serated (sp) washers that fit under them on top when I move the washers to the bottom to fit like a half
moon around the forks.

cafe-calis305-wheelhorsemowerclipons036.jpg

Here's the tail section fitted with the 7" removed.