"new" Yamaha xs750 project

KOCONUT

In too deep to quit.
So, I'm pretty new to the site, but I figured I'd check it out since I got this sweet deal on a 78 xs750. I paid $60 for it, yes $60, that is not a typo :D . Obviously, it does not run but it has everything I need to get it running again except for a battery but I'm sure it needs new plugs, lights, etc. Has about 25k miles on it. Anyone have any suggestions or pointers about these yamaha triples and what a look for when I tear into this thing? I am pretty knowledgeable when it comes to working on cars and I am a jet mechanic by trade, but this is my first bike that I've owned and really want a cafe. Any advice would be appreciated.

I have an xs750 project I'm working on as well. Fair warning, pulling the engine apart is kinda a bitch. You need to break the cam chain to even get the cylinder head off. Other than that, 2nd gear is known to pop out often on higher mileage ones. Check out www.yamaha-triples.org, great forum, lots of information. Here's a link to my build thread: http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=21399.0

Its obviously not complete yet, but I'll be updating it as i get the chances. Let me know if you have any questions about anything.

Another one! Go away! There are too many yam triples on here. :p

Before you go heavily modifying the beast check out www.yamaha-triples.org and check out the workshop section and read over the "So you acquired a triple" thread. Excellent info.

Things to really go over:
-Electrical system
-Petcocks ;D Leads to "gas-oil" lots of info at the site
-If it has points I highly recommend a transistorized ignition swap. Can be done for under $100...best mod I have ever done
-Swap out the middle and final drive fluids with fresh
-Carbs should be rebuilt. $100 for the kits and Boiling them in lemon juice is the best method. Smells dreadful though.