74' CB550 Project Whistle Pig

Hurco550

Keep er' Between the Ditches
DTT SUPPORTER
DTT BOTM WINNER
Well here goes, another cb550. Just picked up the bike a few minutes ago and the wheels are already turning in my head. I teach an adult education welding program at the local vocational school in the evenings, and one of my students asked if i would be interested in an ol 74 cb550, the answer to which was yes of course. Just traded a crisp $350.00 bill for a bike and a title. i hope to get pix of it up here soon, and hopefully the project will keep rolling. Please be patient with me though, progress may be slow. I usually pull outta my drive at 6:30 am and get back home at 9:30 pm, so that leaves weekends and only the most ambitious evenings for progress :p Through the course of this project i am sure i will be asking plenty of questions, and will probably make myself look like an idiot at times. I am a CNC programmer and machinist by day, as well as an AWS Certified welder, so the fabrication and so on will not be a problem. Heres the kicker, Me doing electrical work is about like a blind guy givin a tattoo, just dont work out to well. Luckily for me the old man has a background in electrical engineering ;) the plans for the bike are simple though. maybe not in this specific order but anywho.

1. Make er make noise again. make sure the ol girl still has soul

2. Cut off all the crap, ya know all the stuff you dont need to go fast.

3. start makin the billet, (custom triple trees, rear sets, and maybe even clip ons if i get motivated enough ect.)

4. make er run good ( port heads, get rid of the bathtub airbox and open up the exhaust)

5. make er pretty. (powder coat wheels, frame, paint tank, make cafe seat, and if im feeling adventurous, pound some knee dents into the gas tank. im a little nervous about that one)

6. stand, stare, think, imagine, do, undo, redo, rinse and repeat.