First Bike, First Build: 1971 CB350

NDFettig

Hello everyone!

To make a long story short, I bought this '71 Honda CB350 near the end of summer in 2017 and I am finally able to dedicate more time and money to making this thing roadworthy. I bought it from an older gentleman who owned the bike since he was in high school, and while it had clearly seen better days it seemed like it was in decent mechanical condition. $400 and an hour later I backed it off the trailer and rolled it into the garage. Unfortunately, it's remained there with only a little bit of work done here and there.

This bike represents a lot of firsts for me: first motorcycle, first carbureted motor, and first points ignition system. I had been itching to own a classic for quite a few years but never could really justify spending a couple thousand dollars on a classic car--especially since I'd have to put even more money into parts at that kind of price. This Honda seemed like the perfect way to get into the nitty gritty of older vehicles while being on a budget (I've actually spent about as much on riding gear as I have on the bike itself!).

Here's the bike the day we brought it home. The picture is a little deceptive on its condition, but I think it was a pretty nice deal.
wswxXps.jpg

I immediately knew it was going to need tires before I took it out on the pavement. The tread depth is fine but the DOT date codes only had three digits, meaning they're likely from the '90s. I have a pair of IRC GS-11 tires, tubes, and rim strips waiting to be installed. I also (correctly) assumed that I was going to have to do some work on the wiring sometime in the future. After a winter in storage, the fuse would pop every time I switched the key on. It took me a while to figure out where the short was, but I narrowed it down to one of the power wires to the switches after ruling every other component on the bike.

ontw3YG.jpg