1972 CL350 rookie budget build

xxpaco84xx

How is it going everyone. My name is Paco and i live in Chicago. I purchased a 1972 CL350 back in October of last year. It was in an good condition for a 40 year old bike. At least to my knowledge it is. I am new to motorcycles but I just fell in love with all the different modifications people have been doing with these bike. The bike was running but it would idle high and then die out. So I decided to tear it down, build it up and do some minor customization to the bike on a budget. I would like to get it done and running buy this summer. So i hope I can get the help i need from you guys here.

The plan is going to be
• Drag bars
• Firestone Deluxe tires
• Powder coating the frame, wheels, and spoke a satin black, leaving the original paint and chrome.
• Removing the front fender or maybe chopping it
• Bobbed back fender.
• Modifying the gauges
• Possibly an new head light
• Definitely new turn signals
• Modifying the stock seat

I'm sure there a couple of things I'm missing but ill get to them eventually. I also forgot to mention that I'm trying to do this on a $3500 budget including the bike, tools, and powder coating.

Here are the pic of my new ride

IMG_0269.jpg

IMG_0294.jpg

IMG_0309.jpg

I wont be doing anything to major to the bike. It actually looks a lot nicer in the picture than what it was. The triple tree was cracked so i had to buy a new one. One of the forks didn't have any oil so the parts on the inside where rusted. Also the tubes were rusted. The fenders are rusted on the under side. I'm thinking of chroming them again. The chrome looks good in the pictures but the back of the exhaust and the wheels were rusted. Ill post some pics. Either way with the minor customizing Ill be doing I should be able to bring it back to a stock looking bike if I needed or wanted too.

IMG_0312.jpg

IMG_0431.jpg

IMG_0432.jpg

IMG_0433.jpg

IMG_0383.jpg