First Build; '75 CB360 (yes ANOTHER 360 build)

MHDesign

Been Around the Block
Alright, here goes:

I'm a newbie when it comes to bikes, but when I do something, I usually dive right in (and sometimes find I'm in over my head!) I picked this bike up a month ago. It's a '75 CB360, which was in running order when I purchased it (I rode it home 40 miles):

My plan is to go through the whole bike and do a cafe build, a la my rendering below:

I'm an Industrial Designer, so I'll plan to put that skill set to good use, using CAD and my fabrication resources to build misc. brackets, the seat and seat pan, etc. So, the build will be DIY, but some of the one-off stuff will be outsourced to a fab shop that can laser cut, machine, etc. I'll plan to also rely on you good folks for information and the knowledge that I lack :)

Here's the bike as it stands now:

My game plan is to get everything mocked up how I want it so that I can identify clearance issues, where the battery goes, mounting for the seat, etc., before final tear-down.

So far I've removed the wiring harness, and (almost) everything but the essentials, started cutting off unwanted tabs, mounted a new rear fender (still need to cut the back end off), installed rearsets, got a CB200 tank off of ebay, and have begun the design of the seat / seat pan. I'm still awaiting backordered clubman bars from DCC, but they should arrive this week. In the mean time I'm still working out what I plan to run for a battery (lithium?), signals (LED?), and everything else related to the electrical system, so I can plan for these items.

Ultimately, the bike will get torn down completely and every surface will be refurbished, all wear items replaced, etc., but for now I'm still playing "mock-up" in motorcycle "what-if?" land.

More to come soon...

jungalist said:
almost a waste, the bike looked very clean to start with!