GS450-rear mudguard opinions and advice

gk45011

Coast to Coast
Slow build for sure. First cafe and not exactly the mechanical wiz. Last bike was a Yamaha XS1100 bobber that turned out faily well. Bought it as a bagger for $100 not runing and it is still going strong today (saw at the Newport bike rally).

Started a teardown on the GS. It is running but is now having issue with a hanging idle. One min it revs fine then the next it spikes to 3000-5000 and stays tere until I mess with the choke, or ile mixture screw. I assume this means an air leak somewhere? But where? The throottle and the choke cables seem to be releasing fully. The idle adjuster increases fuel? the choke increases air? I am a noob so all hep welcome.

I would love to lose the airbox and rejet, but I need to try to get it running dcent first to have a benchmark to work off of (or so I'm told).

Searching for inspiration, help, and anyone who has a mechanical cue more than myself in the Cincinnati area. I will try to upload some pics.

293887_293510650747969_172136584_n.jpg

309448_295203113912056_1007870929_n.jpg

Re: 83 GS 450 with issues... here we go!

Great bike to start with! If you haven't signed onto the GSResources, I highly recommend it. A member there has compiled this site:

http://members.dslextreme.com/users/bikecliff/

and it has plenty of info. Obviously, it isn't just for the 450 but there's some for your bike.

What are you looking to do about that rear wheel? The stock 16" doesn't lend itself to the standard "cafe" bike........

Yeah, the L models are the bastards I suppose. There are a couple good examples if you look hard enough though.

If you decide to go with an 18" rear mag, let me know. I have one that is literally a "bolt on and go" type deal.

About 20 minutes south of New Castle, PA. And I think I have a 90/90-19 Avon tyre that would fit your bike too.

Plenty of stock GS twins, but a few custom jobs too:
http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum/showthread.php?t=166061