'64 CB77 Project

groundpounder66

Hey all!
Longtime reader, fairly new member.
I recently got ahold of this old '64 CB77. It was practically free, so I thought to myself "why not".
It's been sitting in a garage for about 30 years. Has 6,000 miles on it. All the bolts on the engine and frame seem to be loose. Makes me worried someone went for a restoration, lost interest or found out it wasn't worth it and slapped it back together to get rid of it. Engine is dry, I already know that the cylinders need honing, and the carbs are completely shot. I've prepped the tank for electrolysis rust removal methods.
I've also started on cosmetic work, mostly for the motivation to get all the other stuff done. Paint's been stripped, and I've sprayed self-etching primer on everything.
I'm not really going for a restoration. As a beginner to bike work (auto mechanic by trade) I'm just trying to get her to run. Eventually I'd like to turn this into my touring bike.
Thoughts? Suggestions?

Here's what I've got (and done) so far:

Attachments

• WP_000473.jpg
    WP_000473.jpg
    759.4 KB · Views: 266
  • WP_000480.jpg
    WP_000480.jpg
    651.2 KB · Views: 276
  • WP_000519.jpg
    WP_000519.jpg
    446 KB · Views: 267
  • WP_000554.jpg
    WP_000554.jpg
    680.8 KB · Views: 265
Interesting starting point, I have its Scrambler little brother, a CL72. Become very familiar with www.cmsnl.com, as they have great schematics and a kick ass parts selection.

Good luck with her, very entertaining (in a good way usually) bikes. And deep 6 that CL type knobby in favor of something a bit more friendly to your chassis. CLs were full frame, they can take the shaking a bit better than the stressed member CBs can.

Best hurry, a lot of model specific hard parts are disappearing... but the diagrams and schematics absolutely put the factory pages to shame.