1976 XL175 Ducati 750 engine swap.

NurseJosh

Hello,

A bit of background on this build. I had a leftover 1976 XL175 frame from a part out, it was gathering dust in my shop for several months. Recently I found a great eBay deal on a 2000 Ducati Monster 750 motor with 1k miles on it. I decided to mount the motor in the XL175 Frame. The frame is 90% hand built in my shop, with the steering neck being the only bit of original XL. I did this because it met the age/displacement requirements to get a title by first registering it in Vermont.

The project is about 3 quarters done:

2002 GSXR 1000 Forks, Triple clamps, front wheel/ brakes
I mounted CB350 Risers to the upper triple, and used some emgo "drag" bars
I have a GSXR Brake master cylinder that is not installed, I need new banjo bolt.
Clutch master cylinder is from a Kawasaki ZX7R
Front plate is 6 layers of carbon fiber with polyester resin, needs a lot of sanding work. I may re-do with epoxy resin.
Frame is a a basic trellis made from 1" DOM cold rolled steel
2000 Ducati monster motor, all stock
I did not want to use downdraft carbs because that would really limit my tank choices because of the space they would occupy. So I altered the stock intakes to allow for to VM38 Round Slides, the intake lengths are about the same length from carb to valve, but as you can see in the images the Horizontal cylinder intake has a 45 degree bend in it. I have not run into any significant tuning trouble as of yet.
Ignition is stock Ducati
Seat is hand made, my first time on a sewing machine, its not perfect but I'm proud of it lol.
Swingarm and rear wheel and linkage are all from a 2007 Ducati Monster 695
Rear Shock is from a 2005 Ducati S4R

Measurements:

Wheelbase: 55 inches
Rake: 24 degrees
Offset: 32 mm
Trail: 3.91 inches

Attachments

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    145.7 KB · Views: 496
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    133.8 KB · Views: 448
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    118.7 KB · Views: 1,023
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    143 KB · Views: 402
  • 5.jpg