www.lostapostlejewelry.com

www.cognitomoto.com

www.townmoto.com

www.sparckmoto.com

www.Moto-Madness.com

www.pistonsociety.com

www.steeltowngarage.com

GET DTT UPDATES ON FACEBOOK AND TWITTER

Author Topic: 1973 CB350G Canadian Noob Build (Gotta start somewhere!)  (Read 71656 times)

Offline Saturdays Wrench

• Saturday's Wrench YouTube Channel
Hi All  :D

I love motorcycles. This is my 4th one and I decided it was time to take on the challenge of rebuilding a bike myself. I am not a mechanic but can be resourceful when I need to be. I love learning. I love wrenching. I respect wisdom. This is why I am posting here, to learn from others, get advice and guidance along the way. I work on a computer from Monday to Friday but just can't wait for Saturday's wrench!  8)

Here's what I'm dealing with:
It's a 1973 CB350G (the one with the front disc brake). I purchased the bike for more than I would like to admit ($1500) and it was not running ( I know, I know..). I justified the price because CB350's are in demand in the area I live in and there are not many around, especially so close to where I live. Also, he gave me a box of parts with it. I was happy. It had been buried deep in his garage for approx 3 years and was starting to get some surface rust and a whole lot of cobwebs. It has approx 33,000 miles (seems a lot but I intend to rebuild the engine), battery was dead, 3 yr old gas in the tank with rust inside the tank, engine turned over, brakes not ceased, tyres almost brand new. I came to the conclusion that the bike was well maintained and decided to go for it.

What I intend to do:
- dismantle entire bike
- recondition all aluminum to mirror shine
- rebuild engine with upgrades
- fresh PC on frame and select parts
- upgraded rims, spokes and tyres
- upgraded front brake, possibly dual disc??
- upgraded suspension in front and rear, stock forks rebuilt, possible inverted forks??
- custom seat, headlight, running/brake light