Honda cbx750f cafe racer first build

Merrick91

Hello, my name is Merrick I'm a South African living in Norway. I'm attempting my first big build.

Before I get my head bitten off for stripping the bike and having everything in boxes let me give you the back story first. My friend bought the cbx750f a few years back with the intention of doing a brat conversion. This never happened and he wasn't able to get started. He bought a new bike and lost interest, so I was able to take the bike off his hands . Although dismantled it seems in really good nick with some wear to the plastics. The engine seems to be good, it was running and in daily use before he took it apart, I haven't heard it run so his word is all i have to go on(which I believe wholeheartedly).

I've spent a lot of time on bikes and have always serviced my own- I'm no master mechanic though. I intend to do this on a budget too.

My intention is to convert it into a Cafe Racer without doing too many modifications. I have a few questions about the order of business though. My plan: (please edit and correct steps) I've cleaned the carbs and they look in good condition, I haven't adjusted them. Front forks and rear mono are good so I'm going to keep them as they are with a touch of paint. I like the shape of the original tank so I'm going to keep that too, however I do need to do something about the brackets for the fairings. I need to strip the paint- do I have to have it sandblasted or can I use a paintstripper and some fine grit sandpaper instead? There's no rust on the bike so I don't think it needs sandblasting? Any ideas on how to fill in the grooves where the brackets are? I was thinking of using a body filler and a mold to get the shape right, good idea?