1975 ironhead or 1979 ironhead

LowellGS

Okay heres the deal

Ive got a 1982 gs 650g cafe project (havent started the thread yet) sitting in the garage. I wanted a bike for the season because the 650 wont be done for a year probably.

Ive wanted a iron head for a while and found a couple in my price range.

I don't want to spend more than 2500

Little bit about the bikes

1975 ironhead. Kick only. runs. has sticker. Needs carbs rebuilt, pain the ass but not biggie.
$2000 prolly walk away with it for a little less

1979 ironhead. runs. tank needs paint (never done that). needs a brake line.
$2500

I really like the idea of a kick start only... but it will be easy with an electric start.

But for its not really worth 500 bucks to me lol

What are you opinions

Also I'm very new to bikes.. Never bought one before.I got the 650 for free

What should i be looking for when i look at these bikes? obv oil leaks.. Anything else really?

Thanks guys..

if the bike had an electric start, i would take it off. but thats just me. for some reason i can start a bike more easily with kick then electric.

your call. go with the one in better condition.

Pick the one that trips your trigger. The one's with electric start can struggle a bit to turn over when hot, but they do work and can be upgraded, but costs to do so. Pick the one that appears to be in better mechanical shape and what your comfortable with. Paint is no problem, you can't screw it up, if your not happy, let it dry, sand it off can do it till you ARE happy. You'll get along either way. A properly tuned one will start with a kicker just like any other one.
Stik

Is 75 pre AMF? I cant remember the years, but if either is non-AMF HD than pick that one...
That said: Im cheap, so if I could snag up a sporty for under 2k, thats the one I would go with. Plus the Ironheads arent tough to kick, and you only have 1 carb to rebuild anyway. Should take 30min and your golden.