1974 CB360 Engine Troubles (I think)

rsjudka

Hey everyone!
I'm not exactly sure how to start, this is my first time posting but I've already read a ton of the posts on here!

I recently purchased a 1974 CB360 for some mechanic (or so he claimed) and for the first 25ish miles it ran without any problems.

Now, I'm having an issue where white/blue smoke is coming out of the right exhaust as well as some oil. It is also occasionally popping while revving the bike.

I think the bike also is only running on one cylinder (when I unplug the left spark boot the bike dies, but runs the same when I unplug the right spark boot). I tested both coils and they seem to be working properly.

Finally, there is also a weird ticking noise that sounds like it's coming from the top of the engine.

I've done some basic maintanance to it (changed throttle cable, changed oil, replaced a cracked top triple tree) but haven't messed with the engine much.

I feel like these issues could all be related, but I'm extremely new to motorcycles so I'm not sure.

Could someone point me in the right direction to get started? Also, if you think this is more serious of an issue, should I just take the bike to a shop? I would rather much work on it myself.

EDIT: Also forgot to mention, when I ride the bike, for the first 5 minutes or so it feels as if the bike is half powered, can't get over 30 mph. Bike has a very deep growl noise. Then, all of the sudden, the bike rides fine, great power. Sounds like it should (aside from the ticking).

Cheers,
Robert

rsjudka said:
Could someone point me in the right direction to get started?

Start here...
http://www.dotheton.com/downloads/CB360T.pdf

Check for proper oil level, Cam chain adjustment (engine at operating temperature), Valve adjustment (engine cold), Points gap / Timing check and adjustment (Stroboscopic timing light - engine at operating temp), Carb sync check and adj - Air/fuel mix adjustment (on center stand, engine at operating temp).