1979 GS550L project "What the L am I doing"

lucky13

Well I have been creeping around on the site for a few months now. I just picked up my first project bike late last fall. It is a 1979 GS550L. I bought it for $200 not knowing if it ran or not. It had good compression, so I snatched it up. When I got it home I had no plans on what direction to go with the bike. At first I was going to just going to get it up and running and just use it as a commuter to work and school. Then I stumbled across DTT and that changed my plans. It is now a full on build. I am planning on doing a modern version of a café racer.

So far it has rearsets off a 2001 GSXR 1000, a Ducati Monster tail light with built in turn signals, diamond cut headlight with built in LED turn signals, I hand fabricated a seat and tail section that is hinged to the frame, the tank is going to have an aircraft style filler out of a 1998 Katana, the rear of the bike was raised 1” and front lowered 1”, 4 into 1 exhaust, all new wiring harness, and clamp on bars, the front fender is cut down and I am planning on making a small rear fender that attaches to the swing arm.

It has come a long way in a short amount of time, and I hope to have her on the road in the next few months. I am going to powder the frame blue, Powder the wheels white, and paint the tins white with a matching blue stripe down the center of the bike. I plan on having the fenders hydro-dipped for a carbon fiber look. A few small trim parts here and there will also be carbon fiber.

Below is what I started with, and where she sits now. More photos to come as I make more progress. I value any opinions and suggestions guys!

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    123.9 KB · Views: 531
  • photo2.JPG
    photo2.JPG
    100.4 KB · Views: 529
  • photo23.JPG
    photo23.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 254
  • photo22.JPG
    photo22.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 243