BMW R100 Cafe Project, Update

Roffeman

Hi All,

I have been riding late model bikes all my life but due to a back injury I hung up my helmet for a few years. The itch never goes away though and I started playing with older bikes. First I bought a super nice BMW R60/5 but it was too nice to modify. I found an ugly but great running 1977 R100/7.

1977-BMW-R100-slash-7-motorad-e1491855986473.jpg

This bike had definitely been beaten with an ugly stick but it runs great. My plan for this bike was just to ride it over the summer to evaluate it and then I would build something cool. I was actually thinking a bobber style bike.

1977-BMW-R100-slash-7-motorad-farkels-1.jpg

I just could not live with all the farkels so after an evening in the shop, the bike lost close to 75 lbs. Lighter = faster, right?

BMW-R100-Cafe-Racer-14-e1491856289233.jpg

So here is bike 1.0 and I thought I could live with it for a season...yeah right!

BMW-R100-Cafe-Racer-34-e1491856369944.jpg

As you know, it is hard to leave things alone. I build hot rods in my other life to I just love to chop, cut and make stuff.
Just to make it a little more exciting, I figured I would just do a quicky budget job on the bike, fix the seat and maybe spray bomb the tank so it looks a little better.

BMW-R100-Cafe-Racer-52.jpg

I shortened the rear hoop and I kept part of the stock front pan as it fits well to the tank but I added a new seat pan to fit the rear frame.
Since I don’t have an English wheel…hell, I don’t even have a Swedish wheel !! so I decided to just create the hump with sheet metal and spend some time hammering in to shape.

BMW-R100-Cafe-Racer-57-e1491857366416.jpg

A little mud, a little primer and we got a pretty good looking tail piece.

BMW-R100-Cafe-Racer-58.jpg

Since I got a new rear end I decided to give the tank some attention as well.

BMW-R100-Cafe-Racer-61-768x576.jpg