Yamaha XS400 DOHC Cafe Modern

Earlysport

Hi All,

I'm new to the site and impressed by the amount of activity and positive enthusiasm! I'm Sydney based and have long played with cars, completing s number of ground up builds, typically taking older metal and upgrading performance for fun track use and occasional competition. I've long been a bike fan but haven't taken the plunge until now, and am attracted to the cafe scene as I think it represents my way of thinking - make something older and maybe unloved 'go fast and handle good' and of course have the kind of looks to put a smile on my face :)

Over the years I've taught myself everything needed to complete a ground up build short of trimming requiring a sewing machine. I am not an expert in any area and always learning, but competent enough to hopefully produce a good end result. We shall see I guess!

For my first bike project I am keen to build something moderately powered, but light and agile that can corner hard and stop on a dime. I'm also keen to work on something not so common and maybe seen as undesirable in stock form.. Call me crazy!

So the candidate picked up in sorry form is a 1981 Yamaha XS400 dohc. Also called the Seca. It's been crashed, abused, and cut up. The high points? a 46hp twin cam motor that is a stressed part of the frame, quite light, and..and.. that's about it. The lows are pretty much everything else! So this will be a big build..

I'm a fair way through this project so I'll bring the thread up to speed quickly..

Cheers,

Earlysport
Yamaha XS400 DOHC project, Future CB750 project, Ducati 996R

First up was teardown. You may have noted the bent fork legs and general ugliness. In keeping with my direction I'm keen to feature some more modern suspension and brakes, and I'm also keen to run wider tires than the stock 110's.