Yamaha SR250, brit build cafe

mj

Hi all, this is my first build. Im not mechanic, just a poor student about to graduate with nothing but a broke bank ::)

Only just joined the forum so ill try get everyone up to scratch with how far im on, since iv been working on and off the bike since May.

The bikes inspired by the classic brit iron and the gods over at WrenchMonkees 8)

anyway..
Brought the bike from a fella who was using it to commute, right until the back drum froze (easy fix i thought) so i brought it for a wopping £250.
Heres the bike when i got it home:
small1.jpg

Got it back, immediately started tear it down:

teardown1.jpg

realised it was so rusty i had to strip the paint just to see the extent of the damage. Good job i did cos i noticed the swing arm had rusted thru. I patched that up and started looking for a tank.

found a decent GSX400 tank for about £20..bargin right?!
Sat that on the frame:
mock2.jpg

Chopped up the original bars to make some lugs for it to sit on.. (told you im on a tight budget)
mock3.jpg

Welded them on..

then the bike looked like this:
mockfinal.jpg

Got the orignal seat on (minus leather and padding)

Gave me a nice impression of the bike.

Then went on the hunt for a seat and cone silencer, found both so reasonably priced.
£35 for the seat..£25 for the silencer, i had started to fab my own seat with the idea of trying my hand at molds and fiberglass but thought i was biting off more than i could chew!

Heres how it looked then just placed on and mocked up..
DSC01725.jpg

.... continued...

continued...

Once i mocked up, i knew i had to chop the rear frame down so i could drop the rear seat and cowl.

did that and the seat sat so much better:
framecut1.jpg

Wanted to make sure the rear wouldnt bend so i added some support at the back:
like so..
brace.jpg

also supported the fiberglass seat by fiberglassing some very thick wood into the base, this will enabled me to drill into it, haveing it directly onto the frame: