Fixing up a 1997 XR250

PriestofAntioch

Hey all, been reading around this forum for the better part of a month now and figured I would hop in with a project.

This XR belongs to a friend and I am trading labor for a favor so to speak. It had been sitting in his backyard for several years now and he wants something to ride, so he had the grand idea of fixing it. There was someone giving away a 1980 Suzuki XS750 engine for free, so I am having him pick it up (a half-hour away from him, but three hours away from me) and bring both the bike and the engine to me.

I've worked on this XR before, as we tried to get it running two years ago. We got close, as it would idle for 2-4 seconds before dying regardless of throttle position.

I have quite a bit of mechanical experience, as I drive old vehicles and worked in a mechanics shop for a year and a half during high school, but I have never done bikes before this one. I have a sneaking suspicion that there will be things that are different to cars, so that's why I am posting here.

The things that were done:
-All gaskets replaced in Carb. (There were some missing before this)
-New oil
-New bolts for the intake manifold/boot thing as one of them was missing.

Things that might need to be done:
This is where I need help, I'm not familiar with this bike, and don't want to tear down the entire thing to find I didn't need to. Any suggestions from anyone with experience would be greatly appreciated.

*Pictures will come when I get the bike in my possession, which should be within a week or so.

I apologize I didn't see this sooner. I have a '94 XR 250L enduro. While the bike had some changes in 97 I'm sure some things are pretty consistent between models.

They hate starting cold, especially in cold weather and/or after sitting for any length of time. Use some starting fluid.