Budget build DOHC cb 750

thaglyde

So, I finally decided to be proactive and go to work on the 80CB750C i got from my boss at work for free. He got it from a mother whose son died riding bikes. He was in the process of rebuilding this one. I was able to start it and change the oil. It was must have been changed soon before the guy died because it was just as golden as the oil that went in it. I have an idea to make it functional for me. Im thinking about getting some renthal road ultra lows, some shinko 302s i think. I want to cut the back fender up into the tail light and attach the tag to it. I want to also add a fork brace. I think i got a good handle on the plan. This is my first build so is there anything i may be missing?

Also, what should i do my metal cutting with? Reciprocating saw, high speed cut off tool, something else? Also what should i smooth it out with? palm sander?

Attachments

• IMAG0089.jpg
    IMAG0089.jpg
    632 KB · Views: 330
Is that the stock tank? I thought those bikes had a part that angled down real bad?

I did this while waiting for my pork chops to grill

Attachments

• silly.jpg
    silly.jpg
    409.1 KB · Views: 324
it looks like the guy put a K tail and i dont know what tank that is. I had to get a petcock made for it. I like the one at the top on the right. That looks like me. I wonder what you could do if you had more than pork chop grilling time? Either way, thanks a lot.

Not to be the bearer of bad news but the frame is going to limit and "sportiness" you may want
Try and always play to a bikes strengths. The F was a great 80s superbike racer (Not a cafe), plenty of performance parts and ideas (cb1100f.net) The C was a faux custom sportster fighter type bike, not really suited to any real performance, although plenty have tried to dress them up that way

Surffly,