Light Cross Country Tourer

Piner

Hey Folks! I am new to the site but not to CB750s. The first one I owned was a 1970 frame with a '69 motor drag bike. I sold it along with my CB450 when my first child was born. I resisted scratching that itch to get another bike for 19 years. By that time my two sons didn't need to rely on me for transportation, so I sold one of our cars and started looking around for a two wheeler. Bought a new 2012 Honda 750 Phantom Shadow and rode it for @ 2 years, until someone backed OVER it with a heavy duty truck in the parking lot while I was inside the store. It was a total write off that the truck owner's insurance paid off what I owed plus $1000.
I wasn't too upset over the loss because the forward controls became uncomfortable to me on rides longer then an hour due to an old leg injury, and I want a bike that I can do a trip to the four corners of the USA on. (something that I have wanted to do since I started riding in my teens). I also wanted something with a bit more pep. So I started researching bikes for it's replacement. I knew I wanted a UJM Honda for the more comfortable riding stance and something reliable that I wouldn't have to constantly fiddle with like I did with the carbs on my SOHC CB750. Also wanted a big fuel tank for longer distances.
The DOHC CB750s from the early '80 seemed to fit the bill. I started shopping around and a few months later and thousands of ads searched, I found an 1981 CB750K on the local Craig's List in relatively good condition for it's age, wiring was un-spliced, tank not dented, it started right up without smoking. The only immediately obvious problem was the cam chain rattling around, but not a major issue. So it found a new home with me.