75 KZ400 Break it Loose!

knitt31

Hello! First post here, and I'm hitting the ground running with a build thread!
Daily rider is an 81 GS550T that I've had a few years, so I'm familiar enough with what it takes to get these old ladies up and running. However, I had been looking for a project that I could really sink my teeth into, and learn the ins and outs of these old bikes.
I picked up this bike in the condition shown in the photos for $200, with boxes of the original parts.
My plan is to do a slow-burn winter project to keep me busy through the cold winter here in Milwaukee.
I'm an architect/designer by day and a custom airbrush artist by night, with really no metal fabrication skills, so we'll see where that lands me with this bike!
I'm posting in the Specials forum because I really don't have a genre pinned down. My goals for myself are to gain a deeper understanding of the bike, and to gain simple metal fabrication skills.
For the bike, I'm putting an emphasis on minimal controls,design based on reliability, and something that I can jam through logging roads on the weekends. Mostly Desert Sled, a little tracker, a little scrambler, and a little resto.
80% commuter, 20% scrambler, but I want to bring that "backwoods" attitude to the city.
Photos as I bought her:

Table built, bike carried into basement (that was a treat).

And here we go! The bike came with all new gaskets, and mentioned that the bike leaked, so without knowing where exactly, I'm replacing them all. I'm not planning on splitting the cases, though I probably should, and I have the gasket sitting on my bench (advice?).

Engine is out of the bike. Cleaning up with simple green and a wire brush. Debating on whether to paint the engine or leave it lie. It's in such nice shape that I'd almost hate to take away from that.

And that's where we sit! I've got an airbrush project I'm finishing up the next couple of nights, then I'll be back at the bike!

Hey man welcome!