1972 Honda CL175 - First Time build. Help!

MattC

Hi everyone, this is my first attempt at a build. I know nothing other than what I have seen and learned online and youtube (Johnnyshop/Hackaweek,ect).
I also have barely any tools. With that being said... I am off from school for the summer, and would like to get this running as soon as possible and keep it under $1000 Total.

I picked this bike up off craigslist for $300 (Non-running, and in worse shape then I realized)

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 280
Got it home and immediately tore it down.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 277
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 262
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    872.1 KB · Views: 245
My first thoughts were to detab everything I dont need, and get a hoop and some sort of seat pan and box build in.
I tried to save money on a hoop by going to homedepo and bending some 1' steel tube...

It was really hard work, and although I managed to get it done, it got a kink at the last bend.
So I will be scraping that idea, and ordering a Hoop off ebay...and waiting for that to arrive.

To keep busy in the meantime I figured I would start prepping smaller things for paint...

My rear shocks are also looking bad, can I rebuild these or should I look into replacing them?

Comments. Suggestions and Help is much needed and appreciated! Thank you.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 257
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 274
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    843.8 KB · Views: 249
Striping the tank.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 268
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 235
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 234
Couldn't find anyone to help with welding so we purchased one, and are going to learn how to weld ourselves. :-\

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 230