1976 CB550F "Barn Find"

snmavridis

Gettin my life together. One bolt. At a time.
I've been browsing CL for the past 4 months looking for the perfect bike. My budget was $1200, with one CB400F recently in my sights for $1500. The past 2 weeks I've been on CL every 3 hours looking for the right bike. I checked it out today and bam, I found the bike... for $500 WITH A TITLE.

History: one owner for 40 years. Sat in a garage for ten, then his son ran it last summer. 86 year old man only maintained it. Did nothing else to it. Completely stock. Paint is in great condition. Seat is in GREAT condition. Little rust on the chrome. Fairing is broken, not that it's going to stay on the bike anyway. Rusted up baggage rails. New spark plugs. original tool kit came with it and a cover.

The bad: engine didnt start up. the starter starts turning the engine but it doesnt completely catch. It sounds like its trying, but not completely catching. And after you stop trying, fuel starts to leak. Friend said it's probably gunked up carbs. Wonder what you guys think. The front brake cable is busted. The clutch cable is a little loose.

The plan: get it running! Take off the fairing. take off the sissy bars. change air filter. fix front brake. adjust clutch cable. clean the terminals. polish polish polish. and then go from there! It's gunna be cafe'd one day like this but in British Racing Green http://imgur.com/u6uva

Tell me what you think!!! I'm super proud of this bike already!

Attachments

• 5I85Lf5G33E83Mb3Nac8c41155c83334f12cb.jpg
    5I85Lf5G33E83Mb3Nac8c41155c83334f12cb.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 2,437
Your plan is good (IE: get it running). Too many people find these sort of bikes and strip them down to a pile of parts immediately, then never get around to actually finishing them off.