top 3 manufacturer/model suggestions

cableguy1970

I’m asking for help---what are your top 3 choices for a “café-syle” (that phrase is getting slaughtered these days) project? I’m not a mechanic and it will be my first project---I’ve been riding for 10 years. All I really know up to this point is to buy something that runs and go from there. Aware of CB’s---others? A good handling bike (cornering/braking) is most important to me---NOT what looks good sitting at a Starbucks with a Hollywood model.

Anything air-cooled
Something that sold well when it was released - cheaper and good parts availability
Something that had a long production run - pointing to a strong and reliable package
Something with already a half decent frame with potential - minimising the need for hard core mods
Singles and twins are imho easier to start turning a wrench on

Just my 2C

Sr400/500. Hard to beat almost 50 years of continuous production.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I would recommend honda CB350/ 360. Lots of parts available. Pretty simply to work on. Lots of information available on it.

same applies for a yamaha XS650

CB/KZ/GS will have plenty of aftermarket.

Being a noob, buy something that is running well, and rideable. Learn how to do basic maintenance, before diving in to a rebuild.