Suzuki TS 250 Restoration Project

killerbanjo

Poor English kid getting into bikes and loves it!
Hi all, I picked up this TS 250 the other day for £100 including a seized engine and another complete engine that was not seized. The guy had it in a garage for about 7 years after buying it for his collection (he has 7 garages FULL of bikes). This is my first project (Im doing bits and bobs on my 125 but its hard to do when you ride it every day).

As soon as i got the bike to my friends garage me and him got to work stripping the frame down to grind off the old paint and rust ready for a new paint job. Everything came out pretty easily as it was all greased well which was nice. The only thing that neither of us can budge is the swingarm bolt. I have managed to rotate it but not slide it at all, i think i need to purchase a copper hammer or a brass drift so i can hit it harder with out damaging it.

I had a quick look at the seized engine and it turns out it has no piston and there was a knurled piece of metal stopping it from rotating that when removed the engine rotated freely. I think its a piece of tool handle that must have dropped in, maybe when taking the piston out?

Anyway here she is, im pretty sure it is an ER but do not really know, if anyone knows better please tell me. It has been road registered in the past so ill apply for the v5 soon.

RZ78ZHy.jpg

vlpvoJU.jpg

Stripped and started to grind, it is coming up quite well.
UvVDb46.jpg

Is the rear supposed to look like this?!
dujOOkt.jpg

There also appears to be some messy welding done to the frame, im not sure if this is from suzuki (heard their welding is quite messy) or it has been repaired in the past. Regardless I am going to grind it all down with a dremel neatly.

Please post any suggestions and tips as I have never done this before and have no real guidance!

Re: TS 250 ER