'72 Yamaha RT-360

S

smvirili

I've only realised how retarded I am. I;ve been posting in the cafe section without even knowing it...
Sorry for the repost guys. But here's my current project.
And help and guidance will be appreciated. I have heaps to lean and so many questions. Thanks for anyone who is willing to lend a hand and good luck with your projects!

Hey guys. First post here for my firm old school purchase.
I've owned a PW50 and a little Sachs madass125 in the past and never done major work on either of them. I'm all new to this but I am really looking forward to this project and will welcome any and all suggestions made my those who are willing to give them.

I am no mechanic but have always been good with my hands and am very patient. I'm still a student so time and money are not on my side. The first step of this project will be to get her running (and healthy) and do all the basics to get it registered. I'm doing this because I need the transport too! Some prick stole my bike so I figured I should finally ride something I really want.

I need some input into the project, whether to do a complete restoration or go slightly custom. I am thinking about doing a slight cross between an enduro and a cafe. Ultimately would like to lower the height of the bike, have thicker forks and a custom seat. I won't be modifying the frame to shove in mono's etc, so I guess overall, it will not be an extremely complicated project.

Here is what I'm working with and what I've done so far. Please, comment on anything. Tell me your ideas etc, it be pros or cons!!
Thanks guys.

Original Pic from seller
KGrHqYOKjwE09f3oU91BNonRZ_12.jpg

When I got her in the garage, she didn't start at all. Surface rust all over, not in good nick to be honest. There is no key to start. Just a kill switch. She had been stored away for a very long long time and recently pulled out to ride on a farm.
Running on premix, the autolube has been disconnected.