'75 CB125S

CB Josh

Hey guys, I'm new to the motorcycle resto game. Here is the link to my Intro thread http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=41929.0

Today is my first day on the project and I already have a few questions. First, how to you seperate the throttle cable from the carb? I unscrewed the the threaded ring at the top but won't detach and I don't want to just pulled on it with all of my tard-strength.

Second, the inside of the tank looks like the outside of the Titanic. What is the best way to clean it? I've heard acetone works well but I wanted to see what you guys think.

Here's a few pics of what I have thus far. Nothing fancy, just another neglected 125.

20121007_111801_HDR.jpg

20121007_125001_HDR.jpg

20121007_125029_HDR.jpg

20121007_112319_HDR.jpg

Finally managed to get the carb apart. Tomorrow I'm planning on cleaning the inside of the tank and changing the oil. I'd like to try to see if it will run sometime this week so I know what I'm up against.

Second day on my first build and Ive just made my first rookie mistake. I've broken off the drain plug in the bottom of the carb case. This has got me thinking, would it be beneficial to just get a slightly larger carb? I want to squeeze as much power out of the motor as I can, 12hp just isn't enough. Any and all input will be greatly appreciated, thanks guys.

20121008_135109_HDR.jpg