The Mosquito! (KZ250)

scott s

Over 1,000 Posts
DTT BOTM WINNER
I'm just getting started on this one, but here's the plan...

After getting a FREE KZ250, I found a titled frame and decided to build a stripped down, bare bones cafe' bike. Old school, 250cc Thumper. Clip on's or low Clubman bars, minimal wiring and lights, drum brakes, skinny tires, etc.
The old girl only has 19hp, but at less than 300 lbs from the factory, I figure I can strip this thing down to closer to 250lbs.

I did some research and found out that it's a 1980. I've got to pull the head and free up the piston, but the '78-79 KZ1000's share pistons with this bike and overbores are available.
Looking inside the clutch side, everything looks really nice and the bike only has a little over 4,000 miles on it.

Here's the ugly "before" pic:
PC040004Medium.jpg

And here's a little inspiration. I "believe" it's a Wards/Riverside or Benelli from the late '50's to early '60's. I snapped theses pics in the swap meet at Barber this year.
PA100110Medium.jpg

PA100112Medium.jpg

Re: The Mosquito!

Here's the vicious powerplant. One fourth of the mighty KZ1000!
I've also determined that the carb isn't stock. It's a Mikuni round bore; no vacuum diaphragm. I haven't figured out what size it is or what it's from, but the P.O. had electrical tape wrapped around the throat to make it fit the manifold. Yeah, I'll have to do something about that.
But the velocity stack must add 2HP!
PC140019Medium.jpg

PC140020Medium.jpg

Now, just use your imagination....
PC140018Medium.jpg

Or maybe something like this?
DSCF0605Medium.jpg

Ambitious project. Be sure to post lots of pics so we can see the transformation.

+1! This could be very cool. Im sure those HP numbers can be upped a good bit with some work.

cool little scoot. Might have to do some work with the dip of the seat pan to get inline like the examples you've posted.