trying to replacing turn signals. problems

modifiedamerican

Been Around the Block
so i have a 79 kz750 and im trying to replace the my front and rear turn signals with these
www.dimecitycycles.com/vintage-cafe-race...linkers-25-8302.html

so i hooked up them the way the old ones were. hooked everything up went to turn the key on and this is what happend

the font headlight wont turn on.
the high beam indicator stays on.
the front turn signals turn on but wont blink when trying to use them.

in the back the lights dont turn on at all.

i can hear the relay or whatever it is click when trying to use the turn signals but nothing happen. im not very good with wiring but i now everything is hooked up the way it was before because ive triple checked everything. any help would be greatly appreciated!

Not trying to sound like a jerk, but if everything worked fine before, swapping signals wouldn't cause the problems you listed.

Either the wiring was switched around before, or it is now. Do you have a wiring diagram? Might be time to trace some wires.......

Are you still using the original flasher? When I swapped out my front and rear turn signals I had to switch to a "newer-style" electronic flasher for them to work properly. Mine didn't do all the crazy stuff you ran into though. The front and rear turn signal lights would come on but not flash. New electronic flasher fixed it.

Sounds to me like there might be other issues too, needing a new flasher and maybe you grounded something somewhere. Replace the flasher first, that may fix it (at least it should the front signals because they are showing the same symptoms mine did). Then you ought to be able to track down any other issues if there are any.