Header paint/coating vs Hammer?

AgentX

Over 1,000 Posts
My exhaust header needs to be driven in and out of the head with a big mallet.

Is there any hope that a particular high-temp paint or ceramic coating would survive this process??

SONICJK said:
Use a rubber hammer?

Well, yeah...still didn't think a coating would like being pounded on, rubber or not. But I have no experience with it, either--you think it'd be OK?

(Guess I should just email Jet-hot and ask...)

Desmo, wrap is certainly an option, and probably the easiest/cheapest. But then when my wreck of a bike ends up on Exif everyone's either gonna make fun of my mummy pipe or else wonder why I don't have Firestones, too... :)

You should make it fit, not force it. Header flanges sometimes have a little distortion where the seam is welded. Use a file to knock the high spots down where the interference happens. Forcing on a part that doesn't fit is simply shoddy work.

Any good paint should hold up to a rubber hammer just fine.

The rattle can options from VHT should hold up.
Personally I prefer high temp powder or ceramic because its real tough getting the chrome on stock pipes to hold paint for very long in my experience. But If you do go that route just make sure to thoroughly scuff up the surface.

SONICJK said:
Any good paint should hold up to a rubber hammer just fine.

The rattle can options from VHT should hold up.
Personally I prefer high temp powder or ceramic because its real tough getting the chrome on stock pipes to hold paint for very long in my experience. But If you do go that route just make sure to thoroughly scuff up the surface.

I was going to try and strip the chrome before painting or coating--it's pretty crappy so I figured a good soak in easy-off oven cleaner or something would get it to loosen up nicely.

I didn't know there was powder that would hold up to the temps needed for a header.

AlphaDogChoppers said: