www.bisonmotorsports.com

www.speedmotoco.com

www.cognitomoto.com

www.townmoto.com

www.sparckmoto.com

www.Moto-Madness.com

www.pistonsociety.com

www.steeltowngarage.com

Author Topic: NX650 Urban Dual Sport  (Read 4205 times)

Offline flip_rip

NX650 Urban Dual Sport
« on: Nov 04, 2016, 19:22:51 »
Hey Guys!

I'm new to this posting, but have been poking around here for a while now. I've started a build on a somewhat unique 1988 Honda NX650. I've had it since May, and is now going under the knife to make it exactly what I want.

Some cool background/specs.
-Bought in West Hollywood for $1000 - yup $1k for a running motorcycle
-Ex-Stunt bike for a James Bond film (this is what the previous owner told me, I haven't been able to find evidence of it in any film)
-Spent most of its life boxed up in Big Bear - Only 17k original miles
-Dropped on both sides off road

So thats where it started! The plastics were really beat up, along with dents in the tank. I knew that think bike was destined for a better life. And thats where I came in!

Originally wanted to just swap the plastics out for a headlight and new tank plus a custom seat and call it done, but after a few turns in life, the winds of change have lead me to tear it all apart and build something special.

Here are photos of its transformation:
-The start of it all
-Taking it off road
-The first attempt at a "build"
-Diving in deep and doing it the proper way

I'm doing all the work at Lucky Wheels Garage in LA, hands down one of the best DIY shops in the world. This being my first build, I know I'll make a ton of mistakes but I'm excited to take it on.

I like to take a bunch of photos, so this might just turn into a weird flip book thing. But at least now I have documentation on the internet!

Thanks!
Philip

Offline flip_rip

Re: NX650 Urban Dual Sport
« Reply #1 on: Nov 04, 2016, 19:50:51 »
Its got a long ways to go, but here are the things I've changed that will stay the same moving forward:

-Black wheels