www.speedmotoco.com

www.cognitomoto.com

www.townmoto.com

www.sparckmoto.com

www.Moto-Madness.com

www.pistonsociety.com

www.steeltowngarage.com

GET DTT UPDATES ON FACEBOOK AND TWITTER

Author Topic: Welding Gas Tanks  (Read 3005 times)

Offline Ryan Stecken

• DTT SUPPORTER
  • DTT BOTM WINNER
Welding Gas Tanks
« on: Jul 22, 2017, 16:47:52 »
Hey guys!

So I´m a total noob to welding and my aim is to be able to weld (mainly cutting pieces out of tanks and strecthing or narrowing steel gas tanks) gas tanks.
What is the proper method for welding gas tanks?

I already have a inert gas welding machine in my shop, which I didnt activate yet...but I heard that these are not fit to weld so thin steel parts...

Hope you can point me in the right direction!

Thanks!

Offline datadavid

Re: Welding Gas Tanks
« Reply #1 on: Jul 22, 2017, 16:59:12 »
You cant do that without 10 000 hours practice or 1000 kgs of plastic padding ryan😃
Best method for welding tanks is either tig or oxy-acetylene, and practice is the only way here, with good teachers. I have been welding professionally for over ten years, and i always get the joyful task of sealing up novices leaky tanks.

Offline Ryan Stecken

• DTT SUPPORTER
  • DTT BOTM WINNER
« Reply #2 on: Jul 22, 2017, 17:09:32 »
Just watched a video of a guy narrowing a tank and it was AMAZING how much knowledge goes into it...wow...so I guess I have to stick to my stock tanks or dinging other tanks and trying to make them fit..  :D

Offline datadavid

« Reply #3 on: Jul 22, 2017, 18:28:55 »
Just watched a video of a guy narrowing a tank and it was AMAZING how much knowledge goes into it...wow...so I guess I have to stick to my stock tanks or dinging other tanks and trying to make them fit..  :D