1982 Yamaha Virago 750 Cafe Racer Build

debo

Hey All!

I recently bought a 82 Yamaha Virago 750 for a cafe racer build. The bike was in rough shape but was running which was important to me as I am new to motorcycles and wanted a running bike to make things easier for me. My plan was to fix up a few small things and then ride the bike for the rest of the summer and into fall before I strip it all down and get into the big stuff. I am fortunate enough to own an autobody shop with my family so disassembly/reassembly/fabrication does not scare me, the electrical on the other hand is frightening.

The first thing I did was change the oil, that was fairly easy and the bike was still running afterwards. The previous owner broke the start button on the right hand controls and fixed the issue by fashioning a bypass by removing the starter solenoid and installed a manual switch in order to turn the bike on. The speedo was not working and had broken components and the turn signals were not working. I was planning to change the right side controls so that I can have a start button again, install a new starter solenoid to get rid of the bypass and install a new speedo and turn signals. I was a bit overeager to get started on everything and disassembled the all the electronics in the front and this is where all the headaches started. Ive spent the last few days going over the wiring diagram and figuring out how all the electronics works. I have a much better understanding now then when I took everything apart and I wish I would have done my research first instead of just jumping right in.