1 & 3 Lean 2 & 4 rich?

Ben

Been Around the Block
need some help with tuning. I'm a newb with this bike. this is a cb500 four bone stock, hasnt run in many many years. Just rebuilt the carbs to original settings. Runs ok, a little sluggish on first 1/4 throttle maybe. Starts ok on starter with choke and once warm, fires up easily, first kick.

Have not adjusted tappets, points or condensors, or replaced plugs.

Observations:

PIPES:
1 & 3 pipes are skin burning hot to the touch (dont ask how I know)
2 & 4 are barely warm
(after warmed up and run for a short bit)

Exhuast 4 sputters moisture, I think its gas, through the drain hole.

Plugs:
1 & 3 look dark and lighten up at the tip, normal or lean?
2 & 4 look dark/black Rich?

If its a rich/leanhow do you adjust for this?
What else should I look for?

Any suggestions?

First of all, check your valve clearances and do a compression test to check all is OK in the combustion chamber. Then get a new set of plugs. If the problem is still there, then you can safely say the problem is carb related (seeing as the problem is relating to 1 & 3, and 2 & 4 you can rule out a bad coil or bad points as they would affect 2 & 3, and 1 & 4).

Now check for air leaks in the carb manifolds, check the float levels and do a carb sync (this thing is good: http://www.650ccnd.com/mano.htm ).

If the problem is still there after all this, your carb emulsion tubes might be worn out, or the slide needles worn out, or your idle mixture screws are way off.

Hope that helps ;)

hillsy is right on. Also check to make sure your points are functioning properly. They could be burnt or corroded.

check again this morning before work. 2&4 are dead cold. Are these 2 cylinders running off the same points/condensors?

When I get home will work through what hillsy outlined.

thanks for the help!

are you sure you have the firing order right? stupid q i know but...

sitting on bike, starting from your left 1-2-4-3.