81xs400-questions about jetting after installing pods?

jmj166

Hello, I was wondering if i could get so much needed help. I'm pretty new to working on bikes but have a few basics down. I Currently have an 81 xs400 that i got a couple months ago and have decided i want to convert it to a cafe. Anyways, after i installed a new battery i decided i'd clean the (stock) air filters to help the bike run better. Upon taking the air filters off the bike and opening up i found that they basically disintegrated and were very patchy in spots(they also had a smell of petrol and felt moist). I went ahead and cleaned them and ordered some bulk uni filter foam to replace it, I only wanted to use this solution as something more temporary because i want to eventually put pods on the bike. Anyway, while waiting one weekend (i work two jobs M-F, so i have all weekend to stare at my bike just sitting...i gotta do SOMETHING) i decided i'd go ahead and take the carbs off to clean them since from what i've been able to tell so far, the PO did very little...to nothing to keep the bike in good shape. I was thinking about going ahead and ordering some pods to install on the bike....

So my question(s) is/are
1. i'm assuming the jets on the bike are all stock, so what sizes would i need to go to if going to pods, such as main jet, air jet, pilot jet.
The owners manual i have says the xs400 has main jet=142.5, air jet=45, pilot jet=42.5. But the manual covers more years than just the 81, so are all xs400's stock with these(this makes sense, but just want to make sure)
I've read mixed opinions about only increasing the main jet and not the pilot, and some that say to increase both.
I'm assuming its been running rich(haven't checked the spark plugs yet), since the filter smelled of gas, but is that because theres less air flow feeding the stock settings so naturally it would richen the mixture because of this.

and