72 Honda CL350 Bobber

basementhardtail68

This is my first post and my first bike project. I bought a 72 honda cl350 a couple months back really cheap with a title so I thought it would be a good beginner project. As you can see from the pics I have chopped alot of the frame off. I didnt like the uneven lower frame rails so that had to go and there is a dent in the down tube so I will be replacing/lengthening it. The last pic is a sketch of what the frame will eventually look like. Im a college student so I dont have a ton of time/money to work on it but with winter break approaching I will have more time at least.

Attachments

• Bike 5.jpg
    Bike 5.jpg
    8.6 KB · Views: 3,456
Yeah hopefully it turns out the way I want. Can't wait to be done with these last few weeks of school and then I will be able to do the fabrication and not just demolition lol. I sold some of parts that I didnt need so now I have some cash for tubing. I am getting some plate steel from my buddy this weekend to cut the rear axle mounts out of. Probably have those done middle of next week. Ill post pics. I made a little table for my horizontal band saw that bolts on when the blade is tilted up vertically so I can cut shapes out of sheet metal or plate. My buddy and I used it to cut some styling into his homemade suicide shifter for his xs650 and it worked surprisingly well. Let me know if you guys have any suggestions for the bike. Also I wanna clean up the motor but I dont want to tear it all down. Whats a good thing to used to get the crap off of it? It doesnt have to be polished just cleaned.

purple power. full strength. awesome stuff. or brake parts cleaner :D looks like a good start. i like the drop out design

Alright so I finally have an update to post! I got the main portion of the hardtail completed. I think it turned out great but I will leave that up to u folks :D .
DSCN9605.jpg

The jig I made for the halves of the hardtail
DSCN9606.jpg

The two halves that I tacked on the jig