80' CB750F: Steal.Blu 'CB3'

Tank: Strap or Stripe? See photos PG2

• Leather Strap/buckle (over new fuel cap)

Votes: 4 40.0%
  • White Stripe (match #, fender, gauge)

Votes: 6 60.0%

• Total voters

full on tin

Picked up the bike a few months ago and have been trying to mix building & riding before the winter hits in Wisconsin... and I mean WINTER. I know the 70's SOHC CB4's are much more smiled upon, and they DO look the most raw. But, I wanted to go for something a little different. A 1980 CB750F.

CTLuba's Build really inspired me: http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=19388.0
Critiques please! It's my first build and I enjoy critical feedback.

Bike was pretty clean at purchase. Many rebuilt components, very well maintained, bunch extra parts, good price too.IMG_3211 by full of tin, on Flickr
I was initially set on all white, but I changed my mind after a few other explorations. (Thanks CTluba, I used his photo as a ref point in this Photoshop) WIZ_WHIT by full of tin, on Flickr
I thought the 'Steal.Blu' was a refined and subtle colour. Had some fun rendering her in some different scenes. Stealer_opp_room by full of tin, on Flickr

.....now lets get to it! Stripped down a bit, and starting saddle mock-up
IMG_3215 by full of tin, on Flickr
Hack:
IMG_3359 by full of tin, on Flickr
FiberGlassed Pan:... let her sit & move on to the comfy part.
IMG_3367 by full of tin, on Flickr

Ahhhh. Leathah time!
S.R.Harris Textile warehouse for a great Half Hide ~$70....

IMG_3283 by full of tin, on Flickr

JUST the colour I was looking for. Burnt-Oragne // Matte finish // Medium Grain. ~5oz I think?, prefect balance of tough/pliable.
IMG_3385 by full of tin, on Flickr

Cast Iron Singer + Butcher Block Deck + Walking Foot... this cow doesn't stand a chance!
IMG_3374 by full of tin, on Flickr

Die Cast Aluminum Fiskars prototype shears that never made it to market, don't ask me how I got em' ;) But they butter through the thick leather