To Pod or Not To Pod

czwalbert

1980 Yamaha xs850
I like the clean look of the pod filters and everything else cleared out cleaned up.
But i like the reliability of the airbox.

any pictures of this bike out there done up cafe, brat or tracker without pods that look good? need to get some ideas.
otherwise got a long project in front of me with these carbs!!

thanks

I have a lot of experience with this. When I mean experience, I mean hours, weeks and months trying to get them to work. The guys on the triple site were great and we all had a good laugh. First you have to go through everything and I mean everything, the intakes, need to be spot on, these notoriously leak, then you need to make sure all the seals in the carbs are perfect, they notoriously leak around the linkage connecting the carbs. Once you have everything absolutely perfect, then it's time to synch. The Hitachi's are really, really touchy. Now you can put your pods on and chase flat spots through out the rev range. You'll change the jets a few times, play with the settings, try a few formulas and then find the formula isn't for your altitude. The cool thing is, the 850 is strong enough to power through most of the issues but leave you with that niggle you know things aren't just right. You will become expert at pulling three carbs. in ten minutes and rejetting and replacing in twenty. Now I did find the formula for my bike and it ran well. These were strong engines and set up well make pretty decent power. Don't fall for stupidity. Get the best pods you can find, DO NOT stuff them with anything, it breaks down and gets sucked into the carbs and then all new problems start. Like all mods. get everything running perfect and take notes, once the mod starts to go south, you can get back to base and start a new path. Think about it, three carbs, needles, multiple seals, springs, screws, etc. etc. I HAD to go through this, my bike didn't come with a box and I figured it was a good time to learn about carb