Honda CB350 - No spark and rattling/knocking

ddru

Hi all,

I'm very new to all this so please excuse my ignorance.

The short story is I recently purchased a 1973 Honda CB350G. Pre-purchase inspection showed compression in both cylinders was OK (170 PSI in the left and 190 PSI in the right) but I was told the left cylinder was not firing and it was not the plug. Therefore, I did the following:

1. Removed both plugs from the cylinders and kick-started the engine - I only got a spark from the right plug;

2. Swapped plugs to test the left plug in the right spark plug lead and got a spark - so both plugs are good;

3. At this stage I wanted to keep the inspection simple before having to remove the fuel tank so I opened up the breaker point cover (image attached); and

4. I started the bike to view the breaker points in action and only saw a spark coming from the left point (video link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hv-7_m3ERoU)

Once I removed the breaker point cover it seems like the left cylinder started to fire because the left exhaust was warm to touch. However, I also started noticing a terrible rattling/knocking sound (listen to about 8 seconds onwards in the video - I feel like it sounded a lot worse in person) so I cut the power and haven't ran it since.

Any thoughts or working diagnoses would be incredibly helpful. Thanks for your time.

~Dru

Attachments

• IMG_1882.JPG
    IMG_1882.JPG
    110.5 KB · Views: 527
Let's start with the easy things. That left plug cap and lead look a bit shonky. Remove the tape and then unscrew the plug cap and put it close to the motor and kick it over watching for sparks from the end of the lead. If ir sparks, the plug cap is dead.

If still no spark, test the coil for resistance with ignition OFF. primary side should be around 3-5 ohms and the secondary should be somewhere around 12-15,000 ohms.