Baileigh tool review - RD pipe build

Stout

Been Around the Block
DTT BOTM WINNER
Well, I bought some new tools after quite a few weeks trying to find the best deal. I wanted American made, but of course the price is 3x more. So I just bought locally instead. Baileigh industrial is located in Manitowoc WI (and so am I) so that is what I got. I bought a 24" slip roll http://www.bii1.com/sheet-metal-equipment/bending-rolls/sliproll-2420m.php and the throatless rotary shear http://www.bii1.com/shears/mps3.php. So I thought I'd give you my thoughts...

To start off with, neither of the tools worked right out of the box. Maybe this is always the case with tools like this, China made or not. The slip roll just took some grease on the gears and it worked just fine, actually I'm very happy with it. As for the shears, I'm going to reserve judgement for a little bit. I have never used shears like this before so I'm not completely sure how the blades should be adjusted to work best. It doesn't help that there aren't any instructions and the video on the Baileigh website doesn't seem to be working. But after tearing it completely apart and adding a .016" shim washer to each of the rotating shafts I do have it working.... pretty well. It doesn't ever seem to cut at the edges of the steel though, so I snip the first and last part with tin snips before starting a cut. I've really only tried 20ga mild steel so far, so I don't know how it'll cut the 12GA it is rated at.

I bought these becuase I am going to redo the pipes on my RD250, so I made a muffler just to try them out... not sure if I'll use it on the RD or not though. But here it is..

DSCN0963.jpg

DSCN0964.jpg

DSCN0965.jpg

DSCN0966.jpg

I'll update this again after I've had a little more practice. If anyone has one of these shears and knows how the blades should be adjusted, please let me know!

Thanks,
Stout

Re: Cocktails anyone? Baileigh tool review