110V Wire Feed Welders- Need opinions

luke000

Been Around the Block
I was doing some work on a trailer today and my Harbor Freight 90amp flux core died, up until now, it has done what I needed it to do. It was the wire feed selector/circuit board broke, kinda my fault :-[. So I am now in the market for a light duty, 110/120v, sub $350 wire feed welder. I like the idea of being able to do both MIG and flux-core as most of my welding with this machine will be outdoors. I am a student and in a welding program, so I have access to anything from gas welders to pipeliners to syncrowaves and Dynasty 350's, so when I need a real welder I can get a hold of one. Right now I want to spend around $250 to $300 my MAX MAX budget is $350, some of the welders that have caught my eye are a Northern Industrial 135, Eastwood MIG 135 (my favorite at the moment), and a Lincoln Handy MIG. I might just buy another Harbor Freight 90 amp special. I know they are all made in China, you get what you pay for, but I am just looking for something inexpensive until I graduate college and get some money together to buy a gas drive unit like a Ranger. There is next to nothing for sale used in my area.

deviant said:
Northern Tool has the Hobart Handler 125 for $369. My 140 has been a beast. Amazon sells factory refurbished models for under $300.

http://www.amazon.com/Hobart-500521R-Reconditioned-A-Stock-Handler/dp/B0090X1KAM/ref=pd_sim_sbs_hi_6/180-4053557-9144867?ie=UTF8&refRID=1XASB24Y64ZH9856C9NN

Thanks for the info! I have it narrowed down to two welders-
Hobart Handler 125 refurb 500495 for $295
and the Eastwood MIG 135 for $300
I cant decide, I like the Hobart name but I like that the eastwood has good reviews from users and comes with a gas regulator and has an infinite adjustment for the voltage and wire speed- the hobart has a 4 preset for the voltage