CL350 Build Started!

Vindingo

I have finally started taking my new toy apart. I dont have any final design ideas yet, but Im thinking a lot of matte black rattle can and brown leather... we will see how that goes.

This is my first attempt at restoring anything, so I am taking my time, having fun and disecting things to see how they work. I have taken my Ducati apart and wrenched on that, but not to the extent that this build will cover. The two things I am intrigued by most in this project are the carbs and drum brakes. I am not familiar with either, so I will probably be asking a lot of questions and doing a lot of reading. I do have a spare set of forks that came with the bike that have what looks like a caliper mount on the left fork, but I think I will keep it old school and polish up my drums.

My next thoughts on how to upgrade the bike was the carb. My left side carb leaked all of the gas out of the tank... I should try to rebuild it! I figured I could learn about carbs and rebuild mine at the same time. My right carb says Keihin on it, and the left doesnt say anything, are these two different carbs and are they stock?

more to come soon, along with questions and updates on the design, here are some pictures...

another thing that I was playing around with tonight were the front forks. The bike acctually came with 3 sets of forks, kawasaki dirtbike forks that are on the bike in the first pic, forks that can accomodate a brake caliper (no idea what kind), and another set that came with these springs and had no oil in them. I thought it would look cool to mount the springs on the outside of the tubes under the lower triple, kind of a play on a springer front end. let me know what you think...

The exposed springs look good. Thats how I have them on my ice bike (71 CB350).

Interested in unloading that pizza of a rear sprocket?

Could be a nice addition to my 350. Gotta be breaking the rear end loose.....