cb650 spoke rims

Ride509

Hey guys I have been doing some research and yes i have used the search button. i understand that cb650 had spoke wheels in the non custom models. i was blessed with an amazing 1980 cb650 custom with amazing comstar wheels... any way i am going to a gsxr front end and was looking at the cognito moto complete kit(BTW is 2g's worth it?) these come with spoked front rim. i would like the bike to match but I am also building this bike to handle and stop well (yes i know the geometry will be way off with gsxr forks) and would like it to have a rear disc. I am still pretty new to bikes and have been a car guy most of my life But this whole bike investment is still less then i could spend on a motor for my old camaro(really 10k into a motor isn't bad right?). So my overall question is, can i buy a hub that accepts a rear disc and get it laced up with a matching rim or maybe another option. or am i SOL and should just get a cb650 spoked rim with drum rear and go with that?(this is also the cheapest option)

there was ONE year a cb750 super sport had a disc brake 18" spoked rear wheel. the whole swingarm bolts right into the cb650 frame and retains shock location and everything. all you have to do is order a different tooth sprocket to correct the ratio for the cb650. I had one on my cb550

Thanks for the info ! Would there be a way to use the hub and a smaller wheel , with usd forks I am concerned about the geometry getting so far out of whack I can't correct it in some way

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ride509 said:
Thanks for the info ! Would there be a way to use the hub and a smaller wheel , with usd forks I am concerned about the geometry getting so far out of whack I can't correct it in some way