Another CB750 project, code name "Guttersnipe"

I've been lurking long enough and I'm starting a new project so I thought this would be a good place to document my work.

First a little background info: I'm about to turn thirty so I've been riding on the street for almost 14 years. First bike was a KZ440 and then a 75 CB750, both of which I still own. Mainstay bikes since those two have been a 94 CB1000, Couple of Blackbirds, Couple of VFR800's, a Kwack ZRX1200 and I've currently got another Blackbird. I was looking for a CB to turn into a cafe as a winter project and I came across a 80 CB750 Custom to cheap to pass up. $350, needs a Battery, Chain and tires, but it runs. Not what I wanted for my cafe project but I had to take it. Well since I already have a go fast bike I decided to build off this Custom's heritage and keep it low, lean and dark. So it won't exactly be a Cafe bike but hopefully everyone will see something they like.

So here's how she looked after I got her home...
101_0446.jpg

Then the tare down went something like this....
101_0472.jpg

101_0473.jpg

101_0474.jpg

And thats where I'm at right now. My schedule sucks but hopefully keeping you guys updated will be my motivation to keep pluggin away at her.

Looks like a good start and a good price for that bike. That one has the better looking Comstar wheels also.

Where I live people think that their old bikes are worth a mint,until it sits unsold for about SIX MONTHS!
A bike like that they would try to pawn off at $700-800 and really THINK it's worth more!

Well I got the Motor out yesterday in between school and school (I'm a High School teacher, working on my Masters). I recommend two people to pull a 750, kind of a pain in the ass with one.

101_0479.jpg

101_0478.jpg

Man that motor is dirty. I think there is more oil on it that there was in it.

101_0482.jpg

101_0481.jpg

One trick I learned for pulling a motor was to set the bike on the side, and lift it off over the motor.