WANTED: Inexpensive Exhaust Wrap

MBS

Live, breath, sleep HONDA!
Hey all, I am wrapping one pipe on my CB125CR single. Ebay sells non-black wrap for $65 bucks plus shipping which would put my exhaust cost over $160.00 - more than it should cost in my opinion. Plus a roll of the stuff may be more than I need for the one pipe. So I am looking for some wrap on the cheap. Anyone have any sources or some unused wrap hanging around?? PM me. Thanks, -MBS

Represto said:

Yeah I just searched again and found some better deals. I don't know why but last time I searched on Ebay all I got was the pricey stuff. Thanks for the heads up. Any pointers on wrapping exhaust? I have never done it before. Do you just wrap and clamp it or so you wet it first? I seem to have the idea in my head that its a ceramic type stuff that needs to be moist prior to application. But like I said I don't have a clue.

Soaking it in water makes it more pliable and wraps around the curves better and shrinks while drying. I didn't use clamps, I used bare wire to tie off the ends for a cleaner look.

I just bought some myself...it's in the mail. Until it gets here, I'll do some flange polishing...

IMG_9282.jpg

Top is almost done, bottom is how they started.

Might as polish up some other stuff too...
IMG_9283.jpg

Nice! i will do the same if I go with a finned clamp. Let me know how your wrap works out since you will have yours before I get mine. ;D

DrJ said:
Soaking it in water makes it more pliable and wraps around the curves better and shrinks while drying. I didn't use clamps, I used bare wire to tie off the ends for a cleaner look.