Yamaha TR1 "Voyager"

danielnordin

-"I have never tried that before, so I think I should definitely be able to do that.”

So I picked up a Yamaha TR1 last summer after my first year at college with Pippi Longstocking's famous quote echoing in the back of my head. I had decided to throw my first bike right into a major rebuild with no previous experience whatsoever with bikes or machine work. You might think I'm naive but I argue there's great power in searching the web for information and coming to the realization that some things you can't do on your own. My name is Daniel, currently a cognitive science student and professional retoucher in Gothenburg, Sweden.

This is how I found her, full of birdshit and engine in pieces. Paid the man and home I went after three hours of listening to everything from how to repair the seat and which keys go to which packboxes, I didn't have heart to tell him I would keep none of it. Now is probably a good time to warn the purists, I wouldn't touch an original classic bike in mint condition, but this lady won't look like the TR1 when it released in 1981. Sorry.

A8uvJ09.jpg

Back home I stripped off everything I didn't want, which wound up being pretty much everything except frame and engine with related parts. Let me know if you need something, I might still have it.

vgPaTz9.jpg

Got some new parts, new gas tank because the lines of the original tank didn't really fly with what I had in mind. Also new shorter forks from a R1 -04 because...shorter forks.

nW1mmSD.jpg

tKjzKyM.jpg

Now fast forward a couple of weeks, forks fitted thanks to a friend machining a whole new stem for me. Can't thank him enough. Tank also modified for a rough fit.

lxvUKfZ.jpg

CX9qRgv.jpg