Cb360 not running on left cylinder woes

dantyler92

So my bike is 76 cb360. The other day my bike died at a stop light on me. I noticed I wasn't getting spark on my left cylinder so I chalked it up to a dead plug and limped home. Once I replaced the plug and there is good spark on both sides but still not running on the left. It does sputter every once in awhile but nothing more then that.

So far I have cleaned the jets out and bench synced but nothing has changed.
I have done the cam chain adjustments and set valve clearances, going to check ignition timing tonight.

I am still pretty new to working on bikes, anything obvious I have over looked?

Sent from my iPhone using DO THE TON

The dead plug was black I believe, it was about a week and a half ago so not positive. I don't know how to check compression but it hasn't been an issue to this point.

I didn't notice the wires or points touching the cover. I used a test light and the left side was firing late, but my battery died while I was trying to set it. Bringing it in to auto zone in the morning to charge it up

Grab a multimeter and test the coil in question. Resistance between ground and plug wire lead should be around 15k and between the two wire leads should be between 3-5k.

Leaving the key in the "on" position for an extended amount of time while the engine is not running can burn out coils, ask me how I know

A weak battery can cause misfiring on a single cylinder. Get that battery charged up and go through the charging system.

alzcbz said:
A weak battery can cause misfiring on a single cylinder. Get that battery charged up and go through the charging system.