CB550F LGC Rear Set Mounting

sohc_this

Hi guys,

Brand new to the site and this is my first build, a 75 CB550F. I had planned on getting my rear sets done by Dustin Kott with a plate mount. Unfortunately this is no longer an option and I opted for Loaded Gun Custom rear sets. I plan on ordering the DCC linkage kit, with the misc parts from Fast From the Past. Only problem is, of course I've grinded off the passenger peg mounts. Any help or links to other 550F builds that experienced the same problem would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Ryan

I am going through the same scenario. The issue with the 550F is that because the 4-1 exhaust ran tight on the rt side of the frame the brake spline/shaft protrudes an 1" or 2" further out than the 550K because the pedal had to clear it.

If you intend to keep the stock brake spline setup, consider that if your rearsets are mounted to tabs on the frame the linkage will have a significant kink bent outward to clear the distance to the spline. OR the rearsets themselves will need to be significantly offset from the frame (will look strange imo). The benefit of this is that you can return to stock exhaust and pedal if you decide to use aftermarket pipes.

I wanted to use the the stock exhaust with rearsets but was too tall (im 6'1). Depending on your height you might be able to mount the rearsets high enough without being crunched up that the pedal can clear with enough travel that avoid the exhaust when you press down.

I cut off the stock spline mount and intend to mount the rearsets lower on the frame somewhere closer to the spline area, and actuate the rear brake using a cable similar the the earlier front drum brake setups.